CCPD recognizes outstanding officers

-A A +A

Twenty-six awards given for bravery, service

By The Staff

COMMERCE CITY — Commerce City’s police department held its 2013 Badge and Honor Ceremony late last month to recognize 26 officers who went above and beyond the call of duty. The annual event presented letters of commendation and medals honoring individual service consistent with the department’s mission, vision and values.

“Together, we are striving to be the standard of excellence for public safety and service in this region,” said Chief of Police Troy Smith. “Every day these officers serve, protect and put their lives at risk for the safety of our community and it’s important to recognize the hard work.”

Officers Robert Feeney and Jeremy Jenkins received the highest honor of the evening — the medal of valor — for extraordinary heroism in the presence of great danger and great personal risk for their work with the North Metro Drug Taskforce. Thornton Police Commander Jerry Peters, who leads the interagency taskforce, presented the awards with Chief Smith.

The department’s new command staff also was formally presented and the department reviewed some of its accomplishments over the last year, including:

• Hiring additional patrol officers to improve public safety

• Creating an organizational structure that addresses present and future challenges

• Bringing habitual criminals to justice with vigorous investigations

• Strengthening partnerships with adjacent communities and regional law enforcement agencies

• Providing a safe community to live, work and play.

Awards were given in the following five categories:

Letters of Commendation are presented to any member with the police department who has shown exemplary conduct, personal initiative or considerable effort to complete a task which leads to the enhancement of the mission of the department. Recipients included:

• Officer Thomas Nichols

• Officer Joseph Neville

• Officer Tom Poe

• Community Service Officer Chris Katsaros

• Officer JJ Rouanzoin

• Community Service Officer Arica Bores

• Officer Michael Baden

• Officer Brian Trujillo

• Officer Dave Bores

• Officer Jennifer Kunugi


The Lifesaving Award is presented to a member of the department who performs an extraordinary physical act that saves the life of another person. Recipients included:

• Officer JJ Rouanzoin

• Officer Jennifer Kunugi

• Officer Christopher Dickey

• Officer Dave Bores

• Officer Clint Cator

• Officer Nick Langdon


The Silver Star award is presented to a member of the department who distinguishes themselves by performing an act or series of acts which demonstrate personal bravery or self-sacrifice, and must have been performed during the police service.

• Officer Tom Nichols received this year’s award.


The Purple Heart award is presented to a member of the department who sustains serious bodily injury, as a result of performing an official police action or who sustains bodily injury caused by the use of a deadly weapon. Recipients included:

• Sgt. Rick Anderson

• Detective Dan Swift

• Officer Mark Carroll

• Officer Robert Feeney

• Officer Kevin Lord

• Officer Kevin Wood


The Medal of Valor is presented by to a member of the department who distinguishes themselves by extraordinary heroism and who performs this act in the presence of great danger or at great personal risk during the police service. Award recipients included:

• Officer Robert Feeney

• Officer Jeremy Jenkins